The Road Trip

I can’t believe it has been one week since Kenley and I arrived in Los Angeles! I’m sorry I haven’t sent an update sooner. I’ve been busy getting our apartment organized and finding my way around our new neighborhood. I’m going to post two updates — one report from the road trip and one about our first week in L.A.

I’ll see how long I can keep up with weekly updates. I should eventually start a blog, but right now we don’t have Internet access at the apartment, and I’m sitting on one of the boxes on our patio so I can pirate a very weak signal. There are way too many people crowded into the local Starbucks reading scripts, talking about their acting aspirations and otherwise trying to look important. I suspect most are looking for jobs, and I’ll be forced to join their ranks next week — but more about that later.

First, here are the things I learned during our three-time zone, nine-state, 2,044-mile trek:

  • You can fit a lot more than you think inside a Toyota Solara, but still not as much as you want.

  • The food that is reportedly world-famous at certain diners and dives is usually just OK, but the experience is often worth it anyway.

  • If the interstate system didn’t kill most of the businesses and towns along Route 66, the recession certainly will.

  • Everyone who stops at the Cadillac Ranch art installation outside of Amarillo, Texas, has an interesting story to tell.

  • Winslow, Ariz., is not such a fine sight to see, especially for a dog who prefers to pee on green grass and not on dusty desert roads.
  • It’s disheartening to see the same strip shopping center with some combination of Bed Bath & Beyond, PetSmart and Old Navy along the interstate in every city across the country, yet when you live there, it’s one of the first places you seek out.
  • New Mexico must be the most beautiful state in the country that doesn’t have a beach.
  • Dogs and cats are much more adaptable than humans to almost any situation.

  • I, on the other hand, start getting grumpy soon after the sun goes down, I get hungry, and I know we’ve got four more hours until our destination.
  • Good music makes any drive more enjoyable.
  • The Internet and the iPad are truly two of the most life-changing inventions since the car and the telephone.
  • Kenley’s the driver, I’m the navigator.

Below is a slideshow of all the photos Kenley and I took on our trip.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

