Red velvet chocolate chip pancake recipe

After eating the red velvet chocolate chip pancakes from The Buttermilk Truck, I knew I would have to try to make them at home. I do not claim to be a good cook, but pancakes are a specialty, and being born and raised in the South, I love red velvet! (If you missed my blog post about the Los Angeles food truck scene, including The Buttermilk Truck, read it here.)

Unsurprisingly, I’m not the first person to attempt to replicate The Buttermilk Truck experience at home. A Google search found several blog posts with red velvet pancake recipes, and at least three referenced The Buttermilk Truck specifically.

                                 From The Buttermilk Truck

I decided to try the recipe from Mrs. Regueiro’s Plate blog. Krystal ate at The Buttermilk Truck at a food truck festival in Orange County about a year ago.

The recipe, which you can find here, was super-easy to follow, and the pancakes and cream cheese-whipped topping were the ultimate breakfast indulgence, though they are not an exact replica of The Buttermilk Truck’s recipe.

The Buttermilk Truck’s red velvet chocolate chip pancakes taste more like red velvet cake with a little bite, while the recipe I tried tastes more like chocolate chip pancakes, which I’ve been making for years. (In fact, in one blog post someone just made red velvet cake from a box and poured it on a skillet.)

Next time, I might tweak the recipe to include more cocoa powder and fewer chocolate chips for a less intense milk chocolate taste. I might also try more cream cheese in the topping to give it a stronger flavor.

The pancakes are best accompanied with bacon and a large glass of milk.

For those of you with young children, it would be fun to make green eggs and ham and the red velvet pancakes for a Christmas treat.

Let me know if you try it.

4 thoughts on “Red velvet chocolate chip pancake recipe

  1. I’m impressed! Your pancake creation looks just as appetizing as those pictures you shared from the Buttermilk Truck. You rock, Shell!

Leave a Reply

