Fall 2011, styled by Shelley

I have a confession to make: I’ve been obsessed lately with shopping for fall clothes.  I recognize this is not a healthy obsession for someone who doesn’t have a full-time income.

But I can’t help it. I’ve been conditioned since preschool to feel the urge to go shopping when children return to school, the pigskin returns to television and Labor Day signals the unofficial end of the summer. Kenley calls it a sickness.

(Of course, it doesn’t help that I work in retail and often am the first to open the boxes and see the newest styles before they are put on the sales floor.)

I’ve moved my sundresses, sandals and other summery clothes to my guest bedroom closet and taken note of what I need for the new season.

I’ve scoured the September issues, searched blogs and websites, and gone window shopping.

I heeded the call of Fashion’s Night Out on Sept. 8 and went to a fashion show hosted by Vogue’s Lisa Love–as well as socialite Nicole Richie and “American Idol” judge Randy Jackson–at the Beverly Center. Fashion’s Night Out was created in 2009 to celebrate fashion and encourage consumers to shop for fall clothes even as designers are debuting their spring collections on the runway.

I need little encouragement.

I smiled at Rachel Bilson, who was at Sunglass Hut (Kenley is upset that I didn’t feel comfortable taking her picture). And I had a glass of Champagne at Ann Taylor, where I couldn’t resist the color of this blouse.

Source: anntaylor.com via Shelley on Pinterest

Several days later, I was at my local Target store by 8:15 a.m. for the debut of the “Missoni for Target” collection. But all the racks and shelves where the collection used to be were already empty just 15 minutes after the store opened. The Target store down the street looked the same.

Back at home, I was able to get on the Target website and ordered a black floppy hat and a gold scarf with the famous zigzag pattern. On a later visit to Target, I scored a neglected pair of socks. However, one has already gone missing in the laundry.

Source: target.com via Shelley on Pinterest

Source: target.com via Shelley on Pinterest

In case you missed it, here’s the story from The New York Times about the rush on the Missoni for Target collection at stores and on the website.

I already have several more collection launches on my calendar (cue eye-rolling from Kenley):

  • Oct. 30: Albertus Swanepoel hats and Josie Natori lingerie at Target. I’ve got my eye on this blue hat. Get more information and see a preview of the collections from Racked here.

Source: racked.com via Shelley on Pinterest

  • Nov. 19: Versace at H&M. You can see a preview here.
  • Feb. 5: Jason Wu at Target. Wu rose to fame after first lady Michelle Obama chose his dress to wear to her husband’s inauguration. The collection will be the first to include handbags. Read more here, and watch the announcement below.

In September, I was at the grand opening of the new Ann Taylor concept store in Manhattan Village, in Manhattan Beach. The store is designed to look like your dream closet with wallpaper and chandeliers in the dressing rooms. I’ve been loving Ann Taylor’s shoes, jewelry and handbags recently. Here are a few of my favorite pieces:

Source: anntaylor.com via Shelley on Pinterest

I’m looking forward to visiting The Gap’s Athleta store, which opens at The Grove on Nov. 2. Athleta, which formerly was available only online, is The Gap’s athletic and spa brand.

But my favorite fall find isn’t an article of clothing or a new store; it’s a website/social network called Pinterest that is essentially a digital bulletin board, or inspiration board. You can follow your friends or search for people who share your interests and see what they’re “pinning” on their boards. Users include style mavens such as “Project Runway” judge Nina Garcia and magazine founder Jane Pratt. There are several categories, including home decor, weddings & events, and food & drink (more on that in a future blog post). But my favorite is, of course, women’s apparel. It’s kinda like peering into your best friend’s dream closet.

So browse my favorite looks on my Fall 2011, Styled by Shelley Pinterest board. I’ve also created a dream closet for the things that I love but can’t afford or have no occasion to wear, but adore just the same.

For the record, Kenley’s dream closet includes a Marshall half-stack amplifier; a Delorean; and dinner and a movie with Kristen Bell, or Joss Whedon.

Thanks to my good friend Devon Copeland, who turned me on to Pinterest. Kenley, however, might wish she hadn’t.

You can read more about Pinterest at Techcrunch here. If you want to sign up, just visit the website, request an invitation, and they’ll send you an email. I look forward to seeing what’s in your dream closet!

Follow Me on Pinterest

4 thoughts on “Fall 2011, styled by Shelley

  1. Hey Shelley! I waited in line outside my Target for Missoni. There were probably 20 of us when the doors opened but more came quickly. The crowd was polite and the mood reminded me of Black Friday–only not as crazy! I had Christmas-tummy! I went straight to clothes and got everything I wanted that our store carried. However, I missed out on hosiery and lingerie–they were wiped out by the time I got there! I did score a pair of the flats and a couple of housewares, too. It was super fun!

    I love Natori and am excited about that launch!

Leave a Reply

